No.252,18th cross, Sadashiva Nagar, Bangalore – 560080 India.


DK Shivakumar and his life in the Indian Congress party

Doddahalli Kempegowda Shivakumar (or DK Shivakumar) is a member of the Indian National Congress and is currently serving as the Energy Minister for the government of Karnataka. Born in the year 1962, DK Shivakumar (or popularly called as DK Shi) began his political career in the year 1983 when he joined the Indian Youth Congress.

This article discusses the career of DK Shivakumar in politics as part of the Indian National Congress, along with his major achievements.

Starting my political career

After joining the Indian Youth Congress, I, DK Shivakumar became the General Secretary of the Karnataka state youth Congress in the year 1983. At the young age of 23, I contested my first election in the 1985 Karnataka state assembly elections from Sathanur. Although I lost that election, it was by a very small margin against a veteran politician and ex-Prime Minister, Deve Gowda.

Subsequently, I was elected as the President of the Bangalore rural district Youth Congress Committee.

Progress in my political career with the Congress party

Having developed a strong political base in my hometown, Kanakapura along with Bangalore, I was eventually elected as the member of the Bangalore Rural Zilla Panchayat in the year 1987. As the member of the Indian National Congress, I achieved my first election victory by contesting in the 1989 Karnataka Assembly election from Sathanur and winning by a margin of over 13,650 votes against UK Swamy of the Janata Dal.

Following my induction as the Minister of State for prisons and home guards in the Bangarappa Govt. of 1991, I became a State Minister at the age of 30. Though this was when I became a Minister for the first time, it was in 1999 that I came into prominence in the SM Krishna cabinet. My other political achievements include becoming the General Secretary of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) in Bangalore, being elected as the MLA six times in Karnataka and serving as the Minister for Urban Development in the year 2002.

In the 2013 assembly elections, I won the Kanakapura constituency by beating PGR Sindhia of the JD(S) party.

Roles and achievement as the Congress Committee Chairman

Currently the Minister of Energy in the Karnataka state cabinet, I am also serving as the Chairman of the Congress Committee, preparing for the upcoming 2018 assembly elections in Karnataka.

I take pride in being considered a reliable man for the Congress party in Karnataka and have been able to take charge and solve any problems or issues that have come our way. Over my long stint with the Congress party, I have always remained loyal to my leaders and delivered the desired political results.


I am humbled by the fact that I am known within the Congress party circles for my crisis management skills, and I am fortunate to be viewed as a leader for future by the Congress party high command. It is my prime ambition to make the Congress party the next generation political party for the country.